CEHD alumna named 2013 National History Teacher of the Year

Jill Szymanski, a graduate of the University of Delaware’s College of Education and Human Development and a fourth grade teacher at Brandywine Springs Elementary School, has been named the 2013 National History Teacher of the Year.

Judges selected Szymanski, who received a bachelor’s degree in elementary teacher education in 1997 and a master’s in curriculum and instruction in 2002, from a pool of teachers from 49 states, the District of Columbia, and Department of Defense schools.  Read more…

Presidential Award for Teaching Excellence

Two graduates of the University of Delaware College of Arts and Sciences’ secondary teacher education program have been awarded Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching, the nation’s highest honor for math and science teachers. Michael Kaufmann, a science teacher at Concord High School with a bachelor’s degree in biological science education from UD, and Mary Pinkston, a math teacher at Brandywine High School with a bachelor’s degree in mathematics education and a master’s degree in education from the University, were among the 97 nationwide teachers selected for this award. Read more….

NCATE Accreditation

In April, the University of Delaware’s professional education unit was granted accreditation for their initial teacher preparation and advanced preparation levels through the NCATE national accreditation process. This accreditation indicates the professional education unit was once again able to meet the rigorous standards set forth by the professional education community. Read more…

Faculty Promotions

Among the faculty promotions announced by the Board of Trustees on May 9, 2012, are five faculty members in the Professional Education Programs.  Promoted to full professor were Sharon Walpole of the School of Education and Suzanne Burton in the Department of Music.   Tonya Bartell, School of Education; Deborah Bieler, Department of English; and Iva Obrusnikova, Department of Behavioral Health and Nutrition were promoted to associate professor.  Congratulations!  Read more….

National Teacher of the Year

The UCTE- and ING-sponsored National Teacher of the Year event  will be held on May 7 from 5:00 – 7:00 in the Trabant Multipurpose Rooms A and B.  Michelle Shearer, a high school chemistry teacher in Frederick, Maryland, is the 61st National Teacher of the Year.    UD teacher education students receiving UCTE awards for their excellence will also be honored at this event.  While this is a special event for all teacher education student teachers, if you would like to bring your class to this event, you are welcome to do so.  Please let Marie Senff (senff@udel.edu) know the number of students you will bring with you so that we can accommodate everyone.  Please follow this link for an event flyer.

Teach in DE & Project Search 2012

The 2012 Teach in Delaware Day and Project Search, education job fairs sponsored by the University of Delaware BoA Career Services Center and the University Council on Teacher Education (UCTE) will be held on Tuesday, April 17, 2012 and on Wednesday, April 18, 2012. at the Bob Carpenter Sports Convocation Center at the University of Delaware. For more information about the 2012 events, please follow this LINK.

Teacher Education Accreditation Council recognizes UD’s Frank B. Murray

Frank B. Murray, H. Rodney Sharp Professor, SOE, was honored by the Teacher Education Accreditation Council with a Festschrift.at TEAC’s annual meeting in Chicago on Feb. 16.  The book, Inquiry, Evidence and Excellence:  The Promise and Practice of Quality Assurance, is a volume of essays honoring Murray’s work in higher education, in particular in the areas of empirically-based quality assurance and the development of effective systems of quality control in teacher education preparation programs.  Read more….